This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Mozambique

Mozambique is made up of 11 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Mozambique. Information on all primary administrative regions in Mozambique.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Mozambique.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Mozambique alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Mozambique

There are 11 regions in Mozambique in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Mozambique
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Maputo City Cidade de Maputo1.1,766,184Maputo Maputo1,191,613
Maputo Maputo Province2.1,072,086Matola Matola675,422
Sofala Sofala Province3.1,642,920Beira Beira530,604
Nampula Nampula4.3,985,613Nampula Nampula388,526
Manica Manica Province5.-Chimoio Chimoio256,936
Zambezia Província de Zambézia6.3,949,841Quelimane Quelimane188,964
Tete Tete7.1,551,949Tete Tete129,316
Gaza Gaza Province8.1,228,514Xai-Xai Xai-Xai127,366
Niassa Niassa Province9.942,435Lichinga Lichinga109,839
Cabo Delgado Cabo Delgado Province10.1,583,884Pemba Pemba108,737
Inhambane Inhambane Province11.1,371,712Inhambane Inhambane73,884