This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Mozambique

Mozambique is made up of 11 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Mozambique. Information on all primary administrative regions in Mozambique.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Mozambique.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Mozambique alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Mozambique

There are 11 regions in Mozambique in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Mozambique
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Cabo Delgado Cabo Delgado Province1.1,583,884Pemba Pemba108,737
Gaza Gaza Province2.1,228,514Xai-Xai Xai-Xai127,366
Inhambane Inhambane Province3.1,371,712Inhambane Inhambane73,884
Manica Manica Province4.-Chimoio Chimoio256,936
Maputo Maputo Province5.1,072,086Matola Matola675,422
Maputo City Cidade de Maputo6.1,766,184Maputo Maputo1,191,613
Nampula Nampula7.3,985,613Nampula Nampula388,526
Niassa Niassa Province8.942,435Lichinga Lichinga109,839
Sofala Sofala Province9.1,642,920Beira Beira530,604
Tete Tete10.1,551,949Tete Tete129,316
Zambezia Província de Zambézia11.3,949,841Quelimane Quelimane188,964