This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Mozambique

Mozambique is made up of 11 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Mozambique. Information on all primary administrative regions in Mozambique.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Mozambique.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Mozambique alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Mozambique

There are 11 regions in Mozambique in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Mozambique
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Nampula Nampula1.3,985,613Nampula Nampula388,526
Zambezia Província de Zambézia2.3,949,841Quelimane Quelimane188,964
Maputo City Cidade de Maputo3.1,766,184Maputo Maputo1,191,613
Sofala Sofala Province4.1,642,920Beira Beira530,604
Cabo Delgado Cabo Delgado Province5.1,583,884Pemba Pemba108,737
Tete Tete6.1,551,949Tete Tete129,316
Inhambane Inhambane Province7.1,371,712Inhambane Inhambane73,884
Gaza Gaza Province8.1,228,514Xai-Xai Xai-Xai127,366
Maputo Maputo Province9.1,072,086Matola Matola675,422
Niassa Niassa Province10.942,435Lichinga Lichinga109,839
Manica Manica Province11.-Chimoio Chimoio256,936